Difference between "Delete folder" and "Delete all notes in folder"

Difference between "Delete folder" and "Delete all notes in folder"

If I delete a folder, are all notes still there somewhere? If I want to delete all notes including the folder, do I have to delete all notes within the folder and then delete the folder or is it sufficient to delete the folder?
Best, Michael